Ethernet Standards for Optical Fiber Networking

Posted on by FS.COM

Ethernet Standards for Optical Fiber NetworkingEthernet is a family of computer networking technologies commonly used in local area networks (LANs) and metropolitan area networks (MANs). In order to achieve barrier-free communication in industry, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) proposed the first criterion to standardize LANs in 1980. Later on, owing to the fast development of Ethernet, lots of standards have been put forward to adapt to different changes. Nowadays, the Ethernet standards can be mainly classified to eight parts and they are early Ethernet standards, 10 Mbps Ethernet standards, Fast Ethernet standards, Gigabit Ethernet (GbE) standards, 10 Gigabit Ethernet (10 GbE) standard, 25 Gigabit Ethernet standards, 40 Gigabit Ethernet standards and 100 Gigabit Ethernet (100 GbE) standards. These Ethernet standards for optical fiber networking will be briefly introduced in the following table.

Ethernet Name Cable Type Max Speed Max Distance Notes
10BASE-T UTP 10 Mbps 100 m One of the most popular network cabling schemes
Fast Ethernet Standards
100BASE-T UTP/STP 100 Mbps 100 m Two pairs of Cat 5 UTP
100BASE-FX MMF 100 Mbps 2 km 100Mbps Ethernet over fiber optics
Gigabit Ethernet (GbE) Standards
1000BASE-T UTP 1 Gbps 100 m Four pairs of Cat 5e or higher
1000BASE-LX MMF/SMF 1 Gbps 550 m/5 km Uses 9µm or 10µm SMF and 62.5µm or 50µm MMF
1000BASE-SX MMF 1 Gbps 550 m Max length depends on fiber size
10G Ethernet Standards
10GBASE-T UTP 10 Gbps 100 m Connects to network like a Fast Ethernet link using UTP
10GBASE-SR MMF 10 Gbps 300 m 850nm laser, max length depends on fiber size and quality
10GBASE-LR SMF 10 Gbps 10 km 1310nm laser, max length depends on fiber size and quality
10GBASE-ER SMF 10 Gbps 40 km 1550nm laser, max length depends on fiber size and quality
10GBASE-SW MMF 10 Gbps 300 m 850nm laser transceiver
10GBASE-LW SMF 10 Gbps 10 km Typically used with SONET
10GBASE-EW SMF 10 Gbps 40 km 1550nm optical wavelength
25G Ethernet Standards
25GBASE-T Twisted-pair Copper 25 Gbps 30 m Developed alongside 40GBASE-T standard
40G Ethernet Standards
40GBASE-CR4 Twinax Copper 4×10 Gbps 7 m Uses four lanes of twin-axial cable
40GBASE-SR4 MMF 4×10 Gbps 100 m/150 m Uses four lanes of multimode fiber
40GBASE-LR4 SMF 4×10 Gbps 10 km 1300nm laser, uses four wavelengths delivering serialized data
40GBASE-FR SMF 40 Gbps 2 km Uses 1550nm optics
100G Ethernet Standards
100GBASE-CR10 Twinax Copper 10×10 Gbps 7 m CXP connector, center 10 out of 12 channels
100GBASE-SR10 MMF 10×10 Gbps 100 m/125 m MPO/MTP connector, center 10 out of 12 channels
100GBASE-SR4 MMF 4×25 Gbps 100 m/125 m 850nm wavelength over MMF
100GBASE-LR4 SMF 4×25 Gbps 10 km Uses four lanes of SMF
100GBASE-ER4 SMF 4×25 Gbps 40 km Uses four lanes of SMF



From the introduction of these frequently-used Ethernet standards in optical fiber networking, it is clear to see that these criteria define every subtle aspect so as to create an environment that is accessible to a more convenient communication among users. Without the fiber optic transceivers, it is hard to put the theory into practical use. However, the original transceivers are very expensive. Luckily, FS.COM provides all the compatible transceivers such as 100BASE SFP, 1000BASE SFP, 10G SFP+, 25G SFP28, 40G QSFP+ , 100G CFP and 100G QSFP28 for manufacturers like Cisco, Aristar, HP and so on. Please visit FS.COM for more information.

Tags: , , ,
FS.COM data center switch
FS.COM LC polarity switchable patch cable
June 2017
« May